Reality Pathing

Yoga Poses For The Root Chakra

Updated: April 25, 2023

Yoga is a practice that can help us connect with our inner selves, find inner peace, and improve our physical and mental health. One aspect of yoga that is often overlooked is its connection to the chakras. The chakras are energy centers in our body that can influence our physical, emotional, and spiritual wellbeing. The root chakra, located at the base of the spine, is particularly important as it is the foundation of our whole being. In this article, we will explore some yoga poses that can help balance and activate the root chakra.

What is the Root Chakra?

The root chakra, also known as Muladhara in Sanskrit, is the first of seven chakras in the body. It is located at the base of the spine and represents our foundation, grounding, and stability. A balanced root chakra helps us feel secure, confident, and well-grounded. When this chakra is blocked or imbalanced, we may experience feelings of fear, anxiety, insecurity, and instability.

Yoga Poses for the Root Chakra

Yoga poses that focus on grounding and stabilizing are particularly beneficial for balancing the root chakra. Here are some poses that you can incorporate into your practice:

1. Tadasana (Mountain Pose)

Tadasana is a simple but powerful pose that helps us connect with the earth beneath our feet. To practice Tadasana:

  • Stand tall with your feet hip-width apart.
  • Press your feet firmly into the ground.
  • Engage your leg muscles and lift your kneecaps.
  • Lengthen your spine and relax your shoulders.
  • Breathe deeply and hold for several breaths.

2. Virabhadrasana I (Warrior I)

Virabhadrasana I is a strong standing pose that helps us feel grounded and powerful. To practice Virabhadrasana I:

  • Begin in Tadasana.
  • Step your left foot back, keeping your right foot facing forward.
  • Bend your right knee and lift your arms overhead.
  • Keep your hips facing forward and press firmly into both feet.
  • Breathe deeply and hold for several breaths.
  • Repeat on the other side.

3. Malasana (Garland Pose)

Malasana is a squatting pose that helps us connect with our roots and release tension in the hips. To practice Malasana:

  • Begin in Tadasana.
  • Bend your knees and lower your hips towards the ground.
  • Bring your hands together at your heart center.
  • Press your elbows against your inner thighs and use them to open your hips.
  • Breathe deeply and hold for several breaths.

4. Vrikshasana (Tree Pose)

Vrikshasana is a balancing pose that helps us find stability and focus. To practice Vrikshasana:

  • Begin in Tadasana.
  • Shift your weight onto your left foot and lift your right foot off the ground.
  • Place the sole of your right foot against your left thigh or calf.
  • Press your foot into your leg and engage your core muscles.
  • Lift your arms overhead or bring them together at your heart center.
  • Breathe deeply and hold for several breaths.
  • Repeat on the other side.


How long should I hold each pose?

You can hold each pose for as long as feels comfortable, but aim for at least five deep breaths in each pose.

Can I practice these poses if I’m a beginner?

Yes, these poses are accessible to beginners. However, it’s always a good idea to consult with a yoga teacher if you’re new to yoga or have any health concerns.

Can these poses help with anxiety and stress?

Yes, these poses can help reduce anxiety and stress by promoting a sense of grounding and stability in the body and mind.

Can I practice these poses at any time of day?

Yes, you can practice these poses at any time of day. However, they may be particularly beneficial in the morning to help you start your day feeling grounded and centered.