Healing Crystals For Grief


People deal with grief in different ways. Some people brood, while others go numb and some do both. Crystals for grief can give you a way to work through your grief, whatever that grief may be, in a productive and healthy way.

Crystals Can Help Purge Negative Energy During The Grieving Process

Crystals can be used to help deal with negative feelings and remove the negative energy from your body and grief is no exception. There are a variety of crystals that can be used depending on the type of grief, and each crystal is associated with many different types of grief.

The most common griefs people experience such as grief due to loosing a loved one or grief from losing something they value such as their job, career, etc.

7 Healing Crystals & Healing Stones That May Help You Deal With Grief


The most common crystal used is amethyst. Amethyst is the stone of transformation and can help you let go of grief in a healthy way. It softens the intense feelings of grief and lets it transform into something more life-giving like wisdom or acceptance. Place an amethyst on each point along your spine (sacrum, 3rd eye, throat) before bed for 8 nights during this full moon cycle to release deep grief that you were not consciously aware was there.

Another way to work with amethyst is to hold it in your grief hand while you cry, allowing yourself to truly feel the grief without any resistance. If grief is still raw for you, it’s best not to sleep with amethyst under your pillow or on your body.

Rose Quartz

Rose quartz will help you heal grief that stems from a broken heart, whether due to love lost or unrequited. It alleviates feelings of loneliness and grief and will help you deal with the loss of this person in a healthy way. It can also alleviate grief that results from an emotional wound and help you begin the healing process.

Place rose quartz over each chakra point as as on your heart chakra, just above your heart.


Rhodonite helps one to work through grief that stems from past hurts or pains. It is a very supportive stone that assists you in moving on with your life, allowing grief to bring about compassion and empathy for others who may be dealing with grief themselves. Rhodonite reminds us of the importance of releasing grief so we can lead more fulfilling lives. Place rhodonite at each point along your spine before bed for 8 nights during this full moon cycle.

Death manifests itself both as a beginning and an end. In grief you are negotiating between these two forces. You will naturally feel pulled toward the state of grief as well as pushed away from it out of fear and grief.

It can be difficult at times to find your way back to grief when you are feeling so many things which seem contradictory.

Rhodonite helps us move through grief with ease and grace by allowing us the opportunity to grieve without feeling completely consumed by grief. When we return to our lives after grieving, it is often easier for us because of rhodonite’s influence on grief.

Place rhodonite over each chakra point as on your heart chakra, just above your heart.

Smokey Quartz

Smokey quartz helps one let go of grief that has turned into resentment or bitterness. It is particularly useful for grief that comes from feeling betrayed by another person or grief caused by a relationship that has ended (Source). Place smokey quartz over each chakra point as on your heart chakra, just above your heart.

Smokey quartz protects against grief’s hold on us and encourages transparency in our relationships so we can let go of resentment and move forward with love (Source). Place smokey quartz over each chakra point as on your heart chakra, just above your heart.


Fluorite helps one see grief in all its aspects so you can begin to work through it. Fluorite brings order out of chaos, allowing grief to be processed mentally, emotionally and physically so grief can move through you and be healed. Fluorite reduces grief so it doesn’t overwhelm your system. Place fluorite over each chakra point as on your heart chakra, just above your heart.


Hematite will help you to dissipate grief by showing you that grief is a process and not an end result. Hematite helps grief manifest itself in a productive way rather than only consuming the grief-stricken person’s energy and attention.

Place hematite over each chakra point as on your heart chakra, just above your heart.

Black Onyx

Black onyx helps one release grief from the cellular level of their being, allowing grief to roll off of you as it passes through your body. Place black onyx over each chakra point as on your heart chakra, just above your heart.


Crystals are a way to work through grief, whatever that loss may be. You can use these crystals as part of your healing process–whether you’re using them alone or with the help of someone else.

Find out which crystal is best for you by reading about their properties and how they affect the grieving person on an emotional level. There’s no “one size fits all” solution when it comes to working through grief, but there are many different ways to do so according to what makes sense for each individual person.

So whether you’re getting over a break-up, death in the family, or any other kind of significant event that has caused pain and sadness in your life, let this list guide you towards some stones that might

About the author


Olivia spends her time writing about topics such as meditation, aromatherapy, yoga, astrology and natural healing. Olivia's blog is a place to find love for oneself through the practice of self-care.

She also enjoys spending time camping with her two kids while cooking up delicious meals at home. It doesn't get much better than that!